My ‘Beat Felix!’ mission diary – First Contact

My most recent mission is proving to be very exciting!

31st January – I got an exciting offer…

31Jan beat felix

The Horizon team at Queen Mary’s Grammar School, Walsall (the same team who let me hitch a ride into the Stratosphere on Horizon 2!) got in touch today to ask if I’d like to join them for a new mission titled, ‘Beat Felix!’ They intend to make three flights into the Stratosphere in an attempt to beat the altitude achieved by Felix Baumgartner and the Red Bull Stratos Team. They are also hoping to earn a place in the top ten Amateur World Altitude Records. I won’t be flying on this mission but they have invited me to work wit them behind the scenes on the project. Needless to say I was very excited and jumped at the opportunity! I’ll be travelling to Walsall soon and I’ll let you know what I’m up to on my blog.

 

4th February – The start of my journey

MiniCASSiE II

I set out today on my journey to Walsall today – I hope the mail man is gentle!

 

5th February – Arrival at QMGS

5feb arrivewave5 feb team 5feb kit

I arrived at Queen Mary’s today and was welcomed by the Beat Felix Team. They’re an amazing bunch! I was not the only arrival as they had just received a package of electronics and materials from their sponsor Rapid Electronics. My first job was to help the team stow the electronics away. I took the opportunity to get to know some of the team members while we were working and they told me a little about how they got involved with the project. All of them had to fill out an application and then they were among the few who were selected for an interview. It sounds pretty tough and a lot of other pupils applied but weren’t successful this year. You can get to know the team too by heading over to the ‘Meet the Team’ page on the Horizon website: http://88.211.127.98/Meet_The_Team/meettheteam.html

 

Leave a comment